## THE FRIENDS OF THE TURNBULL LIBRARY NGA HOA O TE WHARE PUKAPUKA TURNBULL

## Minutes of the 84<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting of the Friends of the Turnbull Library for the year ended 31 March 2023 held on Wednesday 26 July 2023 at 5.30pm

## neid on Wednesday 20 July 2023 at 5.50pm

Ground Floor, National Library of New Zealand, Molesworth Street, Wellington

Present: President Katherine Baxter, Robin Anderson, Barbara Brookes, Steve Cosgrove, Gillian Cross, Kate Fortune, Don Gilling, Anne Phillips, Rachel Underwood, Sheila Williams; Chris Szekely (Chief Librarian) and ATL staff, Joan McCracken, Jessica Moran, Alison McIntyre, Ashwinee Pendharkar; FoTL members: Lynette Shum (ATL), John Meads (Chair, Turnbull Endowment Trust), Lyn Provost (Chair, Guardians), Frances Austin, Elizabeth Caffin, John Catley, Cate Crombie, Carol Stigley, Gavin Knight, Frances Kuo, Brian McLay, Rhys Richards, Margaret Richards, Winston Roberts, Lesleigh Salinger, Matthew Underwood, Diane Woods. (28 members)

**Welcome**: FoTL President Katherine Baxter welcomed the Chief Librarian, Turnbull Library staff and FoTL members to the 84<sup>th</sup> AGM of the Friends of the Turnbull Library.

- 1 **Apologies**: Kirstie Baxter, Tony Cross, David & Joy Dunsheath, Penny Griffith, Derek Leask, Jim Mayo, Murray Pillar, Margery Renwick, Robin Skinner, Priscilla Williams.
  - **Minutes of the AGM held on 6 July 2022**: Moved the Minutes be taken as read and approved. *Minutes adopted*: *K Baxter/ K Fortune*.
- President's Report: The President spoke to several highlights in her report, which had been sent by email to most FoTL members. She thanked individuals and institutions that worked alongside and had supported the work of the Friends. Highlights of the year: the Founder Lecture by Dame Cindy Kiro; the well-attended session at the Auckland Writers Festival in August; and the public programme of talks in Wellington (now always offering Zoom); these events in total drawing about 1360 people over the year; FoTL publications; and Smart Alex, the creative writing competition for secondary schools offered in 2022 (but including problems in administration). She advised members that a very generous bequest had been received to establish a Dr Brian Opie Fellowship, and more details would be available soon. She acknowledged the valuable partnerships assisting FoTL activities, particularly with the ATL and Chris Szekely. She drew attention to the support of the current committee and thanked them.

**Report received**: K Baxter/R Underwood

3 **Treasurer's Report and Annual Financial Statements**: Gillian Cross spoke to the Performance Report, noting that many generous donations had been received towards and the committee continued to work towards keeping costs to a minimum. She advised that our Reviewer was ready to sign her review as soon as audited accounts were received for the FoTL Fund.

**Approved** G Cross/K Fortune

4 Election of Officers and Committee for 2022/2023:

**President**: Kate Fortune took the chair. Nomination of Katherine Baxter (*K Fortune/R Underwood*). Declared elected, with acclamation. Katherine resumed the chair.

**Treasurer**: Gillian Cross (*D Gilling/S Williams*). Declared elected.

**Membership Secretary**: Kirstie Baxter (*K Fortune / R Underwood*). Declared elected.

**Committee**: The President noted that all current members had agreed to stand again: Robin Anderson, Steve Cosgrove, Kate Fortune, Don Gilling, Derek Leask, Jim Mayo, Anne Philips, Robin Skinner, Rachel Underwood, Sheila Williams. (*K Baxter/G Cross*). Declared elected. There was a

- further nomination of Barbara Brookes, a historian and Professor Emerita, Otago University, now living in Wellington (*K Fortune/ K Baxter*). Declared elected.
- Report from the Chief Librarian, Chris Szekely: The Chief Librarian said that of many highlights throughout the year, he had taken great pleasure in judging the Smart Alex competition. He felt that the library had an important role in supporting young people, especially through Services to Schools. He expressed his gratitude to the Friends for support, and also acknowledged the high quality of the FoTL magazine *Off the Record*, which continues to present the library in an excellent and accessible light. He commended the Friends for their sponsorship of the Auckland Writers Festival, as well as the partnership with Takapuna Library, noting that a FoTL presence in Auckland was important and it was great to have a public forum for ATL staff there.
- 6 Report from the Chair, Turnbull Endowment Trust (formerly the Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust Board), John Meads: John said the Board welcomed the close relationship with FoTL but noted that it had been a quiet time for TET's fundraising objectives, as they had not found a replacement for Paula MacLachlan. The Friends of the Turnbull Library Investment Fund was about \$870,000 (market value) and was resilient, with a return of 8.5 per cent. As mentioned in Katherine's report, the Friends were now working towards a direct client relationship with Forsyth Barr.
- Report from the Guardians: Lyn Provost (Chair) advised that former Guardian Victoria Passau had been replaced by Roger Shepherd (Flying Nun). Other Guardians were Dr Damon Salesa (AUT), Paul Meredith (Nga Taonga), and Sarah Benikowski (Far North Regional Council). She said that their latest report to the Minister was the most negative one they have ever submitted, because the impact of Covid had been quite significant. The Guardians were, however, tremendously impressed by the talent and dedication of ATL staff and felt it was a real privilege to observe their activities. The library's Collection Policy had occupied much of their time this year, but they were also keeping a close eye on the current work of constructing bridge connection to the new Archives building in Aitken Street.
- 8 Appointment of Reviewer: Sue Abraham was re-appointed reviewer (G Cross/ D Gilling).
- 9 **General business**: Rachel Underwood noted some concern about the lack of a curator for the Ephemera collections. Chris explained that the responsibility now rested with several people, including the new "contemporary voices" curatorial role, and two assistant curatorial roles.

There being no further general business the meeting closed at 6.30pm.

Light refreshments were served. The AGM was followed by a presentation by Dr Ashwinee Pendharkar (Curator Contemporary Voices & Archives), which drew attention to the vital need for the ATL to be "collecting for the future".

Confirmed: